26 Sept 2022

Who are the candidates in Ireland South for the European Elections?

Who are the candidates in Ireland South for the European Elections?

A total of 23 candidates will be on the ballot paper when voters in the Ireland South constituency cast their votes in the European Elections on Friday, May 24. 

The Ireland South constituency covers a considerable area taking in counties Carlow, Clare, Cork, Kerry, Kilkenny, Laois, Limerick, Offaly, Tipperary, Waterford, Wexford and Wicklow.

Initially four MEPs will be elected from Ireland South with the fifth scheduled to take their seat when, or if, Brexit finally happens.

The full list of candidates is:

Allan Brennan (Independent)
Cllr Malcolm Byrne (Fianna Fáil)
Dolores Cahill (Independent/Irexit)
Deirdre Clune MEP (Fine Gael)
Andrew Doyle TD (Fine Gael)
Paddy Fitzgerald (Independent)
Cllr Breda Gardner (Independent)
Theresa Heaney (Independent)
Billy Kelleher TD (Fianna Fáil)
Seán Kelly MEP (Fine Gael)
Peter Madden (Independent)
Liam Minehan (Independent)
Liadh Ní Riadh MEP (Sinn Féin)
Shelia Nunan (Labour)
Diarmuid O’Flynn (Independent)
Peter O’Loughlin (Identity Ireland)
Senator Grace O’Sullivan (Green Party)
Walter Ryan Purcell (Independent)
Maurice Sexton (Independent)
Jan Van de Ven (Direct Democracy Ireland)
Adrienne Wallace (Solidarity/People Before Profit)
Mick Wallace TD (Independents4Change)
Colleen Worthington (Independent)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.