06 Oct 2022

First Irish woman named on AFLW Team of the Year

First Irish woman named on AFLW Team of the Year

First Irish woman named on AFLW Team of the Year

Orla O'Dwyer has made history by becoming the first ever Irish female recipient of the coveted All-Star.

She is the first Irish All-Australian since Jim Stynes won his second All-Australian award in 1993.

The All-Australian team was selected by a panel of 10 members from across the Australian football industry, mixed from members of the media and AFL officials.

The Tipperary woman’s season came to an end last Saturday after losing to the Melbourne Demons 33-29 in their Preliminary final. It was the first occasion that a women’s football game was played at the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) after 2,952 men’s games at the iconic venue.

O’Dwyer had a fantastic season for the Brisbane Lions this year, proving extremely effective on the left wing of midfield, while her kicking ability put teams under huge pressure, as she averaged 325 metres gained per game, and picked up 14 disposals on average per game.

To continue reading this article,
please subscribe and support local journalism!

Subscribing will allow you access to all of our premium content and archived articles.


To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.