Waterford named divisional HQ in Garda shake-up with Kilkenny and Carlow

Waterford named divisional HQ in Garda shake-up with Kilkenny and Carlow

Waterford named divisional HQ in Garda shake-up with Kilkenny and Carlow

An Garda Síochána has today announced the locations of the new regional and divisional headquarters as part of the restructuring programme under the new Operating Model.

The Regions will reduce from six to four and the Garda Divisions from 28 to 19.

Waterford city will be the divisional headquarters for the new Waterford/Kilkenny/Carlow division but Kilkenny has been named as the regional headquarters for the Eastern Region.

Gardaí say a wide range of operational factors have been considered when deciding where the new Regional and Divisional Headquarters should be based.

These factors included: population, geography, projected growth, crime trends and workload across a range of workstreams.

The new Regional and Divisional Headquarters are:

North Western Region

Regional Headquarters - Murrough, Co. Galway
Regional Chief Superintendent - Monaghan, Co. Monaghan

Divisions and Headquarters in North Western Region

Galway - Murrough, Co, Galway
Mayo/Roscommon/Longford - Castlebar, Co. Mayo
Donegal/Sligo/Leitrim - Letterkenny, Co. Donegal
Cavan/Monaghan/Louth - Drogheda, Co. Louth

Eastern Region

Regional Headquarters - Kilkenny, Co. Kilkenny
Regional Chief Superintendent - Kilkenny, Co. Kilkenny

Divisions and Headquarters in the Eastern Region

Meath/Westmeath - Mullingar, Co. Westmeath
Laois/Offaly/Kildare - Portlaoise, Co. Laois
Wexford/Wicklow - Wexford, Co. Wexford
Waterford/Kilkenny/Carlow  - Waterford, Co. Waterford

Southern Region

Regional Headquarters - Anglesea Street, Cork City
Regional Chief Superintendent - Anglesea Street, Cork City

Divisions and Headquarters in the Southern Region

Cork City - Anglesea Street, Cork City
Cork County - Macroom (Bandon until new headquarters is built in Macroom)
Kerry - Tralee, Co. Kerry
Limerick - Henry Street, Limerick
Clare/Tipperary - Ennis, Co. Clare

Dublin Metropolitan Region

Regional Headquarters - Harcourt Square, Dublin
Regional Chief Superintendent - Harcourt Square, Dublin

Divisions and Headquarters in the DMR

DMR North - Ballymun, Dublin
DMR South - Crumlin, Dublin
DMR North Central - Store Street, Dublin
DMR South Central - Kevin Street, Dublin
DMR East - Dún Laoghaire, Dublin
DMR West - Blanchardstown, Dublin

The new Operating Model has already commenced with the amalgamation of Regions and will be introduced into Divisions on a phased basis. Divisions in the border region are unlikely to see any significant change until further clarity is available on Brexit.

Commissioner Harris said today: "Our new Operating Model will see larger Divisions with more resources. It will deliver increased Garda visibility in communities, as well more localised services.

"Resources will be strongly focused on community policing. Chief Superintendents and Superintendents will be empowered to make decisions on how policing is best delivered within their Divisions while working to a corporate framework. Superintendents will be located throughout the Divisions and will be supported by additional Sergeants and Inspectors.

"In addition, our new Operating Model will enhance the investigation of crime through the delivery of a greater range of specialised services in local areas such as the investigation of sexual crime, domestic violence, cybercrime, and economic crime. Each Division will be provided with a Detective Superintendent who along with trained investigators in specialist areas will be responsible for local crime investigation. Complex or highly technical crimes will generally be dealt with at national level.”

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.