Waterford Local Property Tax retained after councillors reject proposed 10% increase

Waterford City and County Council has set the Local Property Tax varied for 2019, meaning that it will remain unchanged from this year after councillors rejected a proposed 10% increase.

Waterford City and County Council chief executive Michael Walsh had recommended the increase, which would amount to €960,000, at a special meeting in Dungarvan last week. He said the increase would contribute to footpath maintenance across the county and town renewal programmes. 

Dungarvan/Lismore Fine Gael councillor Damien Geoghegan rejected the increase, proposing that the rate remain the same. This was seconded by Fianna Fáil councillor James Tobin and approved by the councillors. 

In pursuance of the provisions of section 20 of the Finance (Local Property Tax) Act 2012 (as amended), the chief executive notified the Minister for Housing, Planning and Local Government Eoghan Murphy of the passing of the resolution to the effect that the basic rate of Local Property Tax should stand varied upwards by 2.5% for the year 2019 in respect of relevant residential properties situated in the local authority’s administrative area.


More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.