15 Aug 2022

Four Waterford players shortlisted for 2018 Camogie All-Stars Awards

Four Waterford players have made the Camogie All-Stars Awards 2018 shortlist.

Defender Áine Lyng, midfielder Lorraine Bray and forwards Niamh Rockett and Beth Carton are all included.

All-Ireland finalists Cork and Kilkenny lead the Camogie All-Stars Awards 2018 shortlist. The final team will be announced at the 15th annual Camogie All-Stars Awards banquet, sponsored by Liberty Insurance, in Citywest Hotel on Saturday, November 3.

Kilkenny received 14 nominations. Goalkeeper Emma Kavanagh, defenders Grace Walsh, Anne Dalton, Catherine Foley, Edwina Keane, Colette Dormer, Claire Phelan and Davina Tobin are amongst the nominees for the Cats. Meighan Farrell is nominated at midfield, whilst Denise Gaule, Katie Power, Anna Farrell, Shelly Farrell and Michelle Quilty are nominated amongst the forwards.

Cork, who won a record 28th senior All-Ireland title, received 12 nominations. Goalkeeper Aoife Murray, defenders Pamela Mackey, Hannah Looney, Chloe Sigerson and Laura Treacy are amongst the nominees. Gemma O’Connor has been nominated at midfield and is seeking an incredible 11th All Star Award, whilst Julia White and Libby Coppinger are also nominated at midfield. Orla Cotter, Orla Cronin, Amy O’ Connor and Katrina Mackey received the forward nominations from Cork.

Tipperary and Galway both received five nominations as a result of their run to the semi-finals. Galway have goalkeeper Sarah Healy, defenders Shauna Healy and Sarah Dervan, midfielder Niamh Kilkenny and forward Carrie Dolan nominated. Tipperary defenders Mary Ryan and Karen Kennedy are joined by forwards Orla O’ Dwyer, Cáit Devane and Grace O’ Brien on the list.

Dublin receive three nominations in defender Hannah Hegarty and forwards Orla Beagan and Siobhán Kehoe.

Offaly have two nominations in defender Róisín Egan and forward Siobhán Flannery.

Paudie Murray (Cork), Shane Plowman (Dublin) and Ann Downey (Kilkenny) are amongst the nominees for Manager of the Year, which will be announced on the night along with the 2018 All-Stars team.

The nominees for the 2018 Soaring Stars Awards for the Intermediate and Premier Junior Championships will be announced later this week.

Nominees for the Camogie Association/WGPA Senior, Intermediate and Junior Players' Player of the Year Awards will be announced next week.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.